University Constitution Committee Minutes April 17, 2015, 9:30 a.m. Library West Room 429

Attendees:

Barbara Wingo	
Sue Alvers	
Ana Spiguel	

Heather Ray David Groisser Christine Fruin

Angel Kwolek-Folland

Christine Fruin, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:32 a.m. February and March minutes were approved.

Quorum clarification for Committees

Chairs of several joint committees have contacted Sue because they weren't sure what definition of "quorum" to use for their committees. Sue asked the Constitution Committee for clarification. Barbara explained that while Faculty Senate councils and committees use the Senate-meeting definition of quorum ("the members present always constitute a quorum"), joint committees might be using a different definition. Sue's information is that some joint committees have been using the Senate-meeting definition, while others have been using "majority of committee members" as the criterion for quorum. The definition may matter less for academic-year meetings, since these are usually well-attended. Angel will contact the chairs of the Graduate Council and the University Curriculum Committee, which sometimes have summer meetings, to ask what each chair considers a quorum. The Constitution Committee can then consider whether to recommend that a clarification be added to Bylaw 20.

Academic Titles for Faculty Senate

It was noted that Assistant Scientist is not considered "faculty" in the constitution. Barbara and Angel stated that "Research" was dropped as a faculty-title modifier for "Scientist" in the UF Regulations a while ago. A revision is needed for the constitution to reflect the regulation. However, with the proposal of the new faculty-title modifier "of Practice" (example: "Professor of Practice"), it was suggested that the revision be delayed until after the new modifier is approved.

Elect Chair for 2015-2016

• David Groisser was elected chair for 2015-2016.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:05 a.m.